Weekly Photo Challenge: MINIMALIST

 

Flower in the Crannied Wall ---

Flower in the crannied wall,

I pluck you out of the crannies,

I hold you here, root and all, in my hand,

Little flower — but if I could understand

What you are, root and all, and all in all,

I should know what God and man is.

Alfred, Lord Tennyson

Alfred, Lord Tennyson (Crossing the BarThe Charge of the Light Brigade) is hardly my favorite poet. But something certainly struck a chord in my mind with this one. 

The opening line of this poem was echoing in my mind even while I was originally snapping the photo. Now, discovering the rest of the poem and a little perplexed about its interpretation, that same line echoes as urgently still: Flower in the crannied wall.

In what may be true minimalist fashion, both photo and line seem to me to say everything about, well, everything. And so I may have stumbled after all upon what the poet meant with his last line.

The weekly photo challenge, while always stimulating, rarely challenges me quite so deeply. What does the challenge mean for you?

This entry was posted in Flowers, Nature, Photography, Poetry, Wisdom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: MINIMALIST

  1. Barb says:

    The little plant in the wall is simple, yet says a lot; it has it’s own story of how it got there and actually flourished in the crannied wall. It depicts the word minimalist perfectly.
    For me, I think the Photo Challenge makes me think outside the square, gets the old brain matter working!

  2. pauline says:

    The poem reminds me of Dame Julian’s reflection that “All shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well.” You have captured an economy of design with a corresponding economy of words. Well done!

  3. Fab foto. I like the way the shadow cuts through the shot. And, at the very minimal, God knows his stuff. 🙂

  4. Mabel Kwong says:

    Great shot for the challenge. It’s a very interesting photo – mother nature sprouting out of what looks like a man-made brick wall. Maybe it means that the beauty of nature will always triumph over the enormous things man tends to build. Thanks for sharing the poem. I never heard it before, but I love the spiritual touch to it 🙂

    • Touch2Touch says:

      I like your analysis of the photo: I just liked it, and didn’t take the time to tease out why. Or any possible meaning, although I like yours.
      As for the poem — it would be considered very old-fashioned nowadays, and probably most people, certainly younger people, haven’t ever heard it. or heard of Tennyson, for that matter.

  5. Stef says:

    Sometimes the “simple” things are far from it. A great poem to accompany your great capture.

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

