Weekly Photo Challenge: REFRACTION

Hmm, tough challenge for me, because I don’t really know what refraction means. Reflecting light? Bouncing it off someone or something? How about its opposite,  NOT reflecting light? Sucking it in instead? Here’s a lovely example (well, I think it’s lovely). I call it Heart of Darkness:

New Heart

Don’t you want to follow into the darkness at the heart of this spectacular green? What is it? It’s a variety of green called tatsoi. Unlike many greens, it loves the cold, and can survive even under the snow.

The first time I ever saw it was two years ago at the Winter Farmer’s Market in Thorne’s Marketplace, Northampton. I had to buy it then, just as I had to buy it this morning, when I found it at the River Valley Co-op Market. Before wilting it like spinach leaves and splashing it with Trader Joe’s Spicy Peanut Vinaigrette, I had it sit for its portrait. Here’s the whole deal:

Light Off Leaves

This is just a smallish specimen! They can grow, rosette fashion, almost a foot wide. And look how nicely the light reflects — or refracts?— off those glossy leaves. A wonderful green. Does it grow and come to market where you are? Or do you have exotic greens of your own?

This entry was posted in Autumn, Cooking, Light, Nature, Photography, Plants, Winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: REFRACTION

  1. Oh it looks lovely!

    I too felt uncertain about ‘refraction’.

    Here in Saint John, we have «fiddleheads» a certain time of year, but I don’t know whether that’s unique to here..

  2. Stef says:

    I love the rich color! How does it taste?

    • Touch2Touch says:

      It looks something like spinach and it tastes something like it, maybe a cross between spinach and Swiss chard? Honestly, I prefer bok choy, to which it’s also related. But it is just so GORGEOUS that I buy it for its looks first, taste second.
      Many people treat it in the Chinese manner, stir frying it with tofu in some form or another, with soy sauce, garlic, and maybe some ginger.

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

