Weekly Photo Challenge: SILHOUETTE

I’m sure there are lots of blogger-photographers who are just tickled by this challenge! Alas, I’m not one of them. So far as I’m concerned, a photo in silhouette (taken by me) is simply a photo badly exposed.  A mistake. That’s not true, of course, for the many superb examples that will be trotted out to meet this challenge by others.

But it’s true for me. I love shadows, and textures, and closeups, and angles, oh, lots of things! Just not silhouettes. So I almost never have any silhouettes to hand.

As it happens, however, we went the other day to the newly redesigned Clark Art Institute in Williamstown, MA. Famed Japanese architect Tadao Ando has done a phenomenal job of preserving features of the original classical building, improving the already-glorious landscape, and even adding the serenity of water by means of three reflecting pools that enhance the new entrance building-cum-additional exhibition space. This is a must-see regional gem of a museum for anybody who’s in or visiting the Northeast.

But I’m unfamiliar with some of the new and redesigned exhibition galleries and how they work for photography, especially in the entry area to the original museum, now encased in glass. It was a brilliant clear blue sunshiny day, shortly before noon (the worst time of day to take photos!), and I was sorely disappointed with this  shot of Rodin’s sculpture:

Rodin Sculpture

But waste not, want not, I suppose. It will do as a sample of silhouette, and maybe someone else will like it more than I do!

This entry was posted in Art, Museums, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: SILHOUETTE

  1. Stef says:

    I like it! I think silhouettes have a place in one’s photography archives – and I think capture fills that space nicely.

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Thank you, Stef. I do find it interesting to think about one’s affinities. They’re everywhere, but especially interesting and apparent when it comes to photography.

  2. That’s a really difficult picture to take — with the daylight coming in behind the sculpture! Most often you wouldn’t have been able to see what’s outside the window, the greenery. This is a ‘problem’ photographers who work with photos for real estate ads; to shoot indoors, and still show what’s outside the windows.

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Thanks so much, Rebekah! I remember exactly that problem in taking photos of our condo in the Berkshires when we were ready to sell. It was all glass windows, and to show in and out both was a b-*tch!
      Your explanation of what the technical problem is here in the museum is extremely helpful for understanding — even if I had no solution for snapping that particular sculpture at that particular moment.

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

