Weekly Photo Challenge: SATURATION

I love love love color, the more saturated the better! It restores my flagging spirits, it makes the world a livelier and more cheerful place, it makes me gasp sometimes for sheer beauty.

Perhaps that’s why I love the high desert around San Miguel de Allende in Mexico so much. Against the tan monochrome, the vivid earth colors so cherished there leap deep into one’s eyes. Similarly with color in the Sonoran desert around Tucson, Arizona.

New England is a landscape of pastels, I’m sure I’ve lamented that before. I love very much about it, beginning with those civilized values that shaped our fledgling country. (We’d all do well to remember them more frequently than we do!) But bleak white winter here and muddy rainy spring seem to last an eternity. Autumn’s blaze of reds and oranges, on the other hand, crescendos and departs within what seems like the blink of an eye. Β And capricious summer? Too hot, too cold, too wet, too dry — but occasionally, glorious.

Here’s a gallery, then, of saturated color, from Mexico, from Arizona, and even from New England gardens!

This entry was posted in Autumn, Color, Desert, Flowers, Gardens, Memories, Photography, Spring, Summer, West and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: SATURATION

  1. Jfb57 says:

    What a clever take on the theme. Great depth of colour in all these!

  2. I love all of your pics and especially the gallery format you have them in.

  3. I love the doors and walls – and LOOK! at all of that ORANGE! : )

  4. Amar Naik says:

    colorful clicks

  5. Love the doors and the vase. I guess blues and violets are the ones that catch my eye the most. Fabulous!

  6. Stunning! How can anyone be blue for very long in a world filled with orange, yellow, purple, green and so much more. Thanks for brightening my Monday morning.

  7. Stef says:

    You have a fantastic eye for color; and I agree, the brilliant hues of fall fade much too quickly for my liking. But perhaps their transient nature is part of what makes us hold them even closer to our hearts…?

    • Touch2Touch says:

      You stand with the Japanese and their aesthetics on that point. Cherry blossoms are so precious BECAUSE they are evanescent. One must live in the moment and enjoy them to their fullest before they are gone.
      They call it aware (ah-wah-reh). But as English speakers, it’s appropriate enough to pronounce it aware.

  8. Pauline says:

    Now I’m in love with color, too πŸ™‚

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

