Weekly Photo Challenge: FORESHADOW

A shadowy concept itself, foreshadowing. But here’s one possibility:

What Snake is This?

Several of Nature’s People

I know, and they know me–

I feel for them a transport

Of cordiality–

But never met this Fellow

Attended, or alone

Without a tighter breathing

And Zero at the Bone–

These are the last two stanzas of one of Emily Dickinson‘s most famous poems, A Narrow Fellow in the Grass. But I always think of it by the final line, “zero at the bone,” the cold shudder with which she concludes — and which I feel on those rare occasions when I see one of these narrow fellows. On second thought, in this case, foreshadowing means grim foreboding!

(Even though this is not a venomous snake!)

This entry was posted in Gardens, Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: FORESHADOW

  1. Pauline says:

    Snakes make me shudder, even in photographs. Oh, but that poem!

  2. jfb57 says:

    Now that is scary to think of where it may lead!

    • Touch2Touch says:

      The 19th century New England poet Emily Dickinson never drew the line at scary!
      She’s quite well known in the US, but I don’t know whether she is in England. She’s an original, not in anyone’s mold, and her “voice” is unmistakable.
      The part I always remember here is that line, Zero at the Bone. It’s just what fear feels like to me.

  3. A little bit of Emily is ALWAYS a good thing! Narrow fellow in the grass or otherwise. : )

  4. Gemma says:

    He looks all leathery and tough. Nice.

  5. Stef says:

    A cool photo – but I’ll kindly keep my distance, thanks. 🙂

  6. Eww, I could barely pay attention to the nice poem. I was too caught up in the picture. Yikes.

  7. All snakes give me the creeps and they always tend to foreshadow something unsavory. Lovely contribution!

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

