Weekly Photo Challenge: NOSTALGIA (2)

Old-fashioned flowers in old-fashioned gardens trigger childhood memories. I never saw an impatiens when I was growing up. Now they seem to be ubiquitous. New Guinea conquers Long Island shrubberies!

No, I grew up with flowers like cosmos and zinnias, and on the rare occasions when I see them these days, I am flooded with a bittersweet emotion that is the embodiment (for me, at least) of NOSTALGIA.

Brown-eyed Susans and Zinnias

Brown-eyed Susans and red zinnias, and white zinnias that still appeal to modern bees.

White Zinnia and friend

This entry was posted in Childhood, Color, Flowers, Gardens, Memories, Nature, Photography, Summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: NOSTALGIA (2)

  1. Stef says:

    The zinnias are beautiful. Terrific capture of the honeybee.

  2. Jfb57 says:

    Now some of those names really took me back!

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Oh, I could reel off a whole list — but the flowers would be harder to find.
      There’s one that’s rampaging around in tubs at a bakery-café we go to that cheers me every time, though:
      nasturtiums!
      Do you have anything old-fashioned growing in your garden?

  3. I adore brown-eyed Susan’s.
    These are lovely, Judith.

  4. I love the nostalgia of a garden…

    • Touch2Touch says:

      I think people who garden (successfully, unlike me) face two ways. Back, nostalgically, at the glories of past gardens and forward, optimistically, to the next even better one!

  5. Pauline says:

    Isn’t it interesting what memories flowers evoke. Just last night I braved the mosquitoes to spend a few moments inhaling the pepperminty scent of the pink phlox in my garden. They always remind me of Mama, whose garden was rife with first violets and lily of the valley, then iris, lilies, phlox, and fairy roses. All of these now bloom in my own gardens and the sight and scent of them put me squarely back in childhood!

    • Touch2Touch says:

      I can see and smell Mama’s Garden and yours just from these few words, Pauline!
      We had violets and lily of the valley and spring bulbs of all kind, then iris, and then plain roses (not elfin) and cosmos and zinnias and marigolds.
      And what do I have? Violets, a daffodil here, a tulip there, and now, a scattering of brown-eyed Susans. But I too remember —

      • Pauline says:

        Zinnias and marigolds are just two of a mere handful of orange and red objects I like. I’m a purple/mauve/shades of green girl but oh! the year I grew marigolds as a garden border, I fell in love with red and orange! I’m quite fond of pink zinnias, too.

      • Touch2Touch says:

        Glad to know at least a couple of reds and oranges made it into the OK category!
        I’m big on green and occasionally on purple. Mauve? Probably never!
        😉

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

