Weekly Photo Challenge: FLEETING (1)

Fortune is fleeting, so the saying goes. Certainly true when it comes to the fortune in a fortune cookie!

Fleeting Fortune

We crack open the cookie, brush it aside (do you actually eat it? I almost never do),  read the fortune and then, well, we usually brush the fortune aside also. But this one I found had lots of wisdom. No question, happiness does depend on our outlook on life. Trouble is, since our outlook on life is always changing, our happiness is also fleeting. The moral? It’s fit for a fortune cookie: Enjoy happiness while it lasts.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Happiness, Wisdom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: FLEETING (1)

  1. Stef says:

    I always eat the cookie – if you don’t consume the treat, the fortune won’t come true. 🙂

  2. jfb57 says:

    I always eat the cookie too! We really should make more of our good fortune even if it is fleeting!

  3. Pauline says:

    I remember fortune cookies where the printed fortune was exactly that (you will inherit great wealth, something good is headed your way, etc. I kept one for years that promised I’d soon be the recipient of a wonderful surprise – it came true several times!). Now the little papers make pithy statements rather than predictions, like the one you mentioned above. To make them more fun, add the words “in bed” at the end… we played that one at a wedding once and hilarity ensued.

    • Touch2Touch says:

      I do remember the golden oldie fortune cookies — meeting a tall dark stranger, a letter containing good news — and miss them.
      I like your suggestion about tacking on “in bed” and will give that a try!

  4. Gemma says:

    Amen to that! Latch on and make the very best of it.
    P.S. I DO eat the cookie, but then, I’m not one to turn my nose up at too many edibles. Ugh! Hence, Weight Watchers…

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

