Weekly Photo Challenge: GEOMETRY (3)

Sometimes Nature has its geometries (mostly assisted by human beings, I suspect). One that I’m especially fond of is a characteristic “Italian landscape”, with its arboreal exclamation points, as here:

Does it look like Tuscany or Umbria? It does to me, at any rate. But it isn’t; it’s right here in Northampton MA, on the grounds of our little community. (See sliver of town house roof through the trees.)

I wonder if the Italian landscape might have been the inspiration for the Trylon and Perisphere,  the iconic symbol of the New York World’s Fair in 1939-40? I actually attended that Fair, although I was way too young to be making any artistic assumptions!

Ma certo, this is a dramatic enough scene, with its stormy skies, to grace an Italian opera, non é vero?

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: GEOMETRY (3)

  1. pauline says:

    That last shot is a perfect example of the co-existing patterns and chaos of nature.

    • Touch2Touch says:

      That’s a really interesting way of putting a phenomenon I’ve long puzzled at: patterns and chaos co-existing in nature.
      The heavenly summer day juxtaposed against the violent tornado, for one —

      • pauline says:

        It’s a simplified explanation (I studied this with a theoretical mathematician while working on my BA) but it might help: http://www.physicsplanet.com/articles/chaos-theory-simplified

      • Touch2Touch says:

        I’ve started reading this several times now, Pauline. The words are all recognizable English words in a logical sequence, a very clear explanation that I ought to be able to follow — And yet I might as well be reading Sanskrit!
        My mind is more chaotic than any theory.
        It goes flittering from point to point, can’t stick to any sequence, and all it retains is what it began with: A butterfly flaps its wings in Argentina, and there is a tornado in Kansas.
        (I think, though, that even though I don’t understand the whys, I secretly like chaos, at least the idea of chaos, confounding logical predictions.)

  2. Gemma says:

    É vero, si.. 🙂

  3. Rebekah says:

    There’s lots of natural geometry. Didn’t we talk about Fibonacci at some point?! 😆
    I didn’t take part in this one, but I love your shot of the exclamation marks! I wouldn’t have thought it was in Mass. had I not known.

    If I’d had a close-up of a sunflower, I would have posted that for this challenge …the brown part..

    • Touch2Touch says:

      What a memory you’ve got! Yes, we did talk about F — although I’m sure I called it fractal, that being a much easier word.
      In connection with broccoli romanesco, as I recall, a natural fractal. The brown part of the sunflower would certainly do.
      I was going through photo archives today and was suddenly struck by round globe cactuses, which of course are also natural geometry. If nothing else, maybe this challenge will open my eyes wider.
      🙂

      • Rebekah says:

        ‘broccoli romanesco’ is definitely a natural fractal… I did find another little flower after I wrote my previous comment.
        I find that this whole photography-thing in general, has opened my eyes much wider than they ever were before..

      • Touch2Touch says:

        If that’s what it does, then it’s even better an activity than I ever thought!
        How great!

  4. R Srinivasan says:

    Interesting contrasts, and I am sure the structure is very inspired by the nature!

    Inviting you to leave your footprints and explore my “Geometric” interpretations too, at http://sreeniviews.wordpress.com/2012/11/08/geometry-inspired-and-instigated-by-nature/

  5. Stef says:

    It’s amazing the ways people can influence nature. Of course, the inverse is also very true…

  6. Jen says:

    Isn’t it wonderful when we can see the world in our own backyard?

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

