Weekly Photo Challenge: GEOMETRY (2)

Architecture almost of its nature (the funky creations of Frank Gehry usually excepted) is about geometry. Angles and shapes, foursquare mostly, following function, in the immortal phrase of Chicago architect Louis Sullivan, the “father of skyscrapers.”

There aren’t really any skyscrapers in Portland, Maine. It’s a big small town (or a small big town) at the edge of the Atlantic Ocean, a charming town filled with great places to eat, and preserving some of its older quirkier architecture along with the nautical sights of a major port. I love Portland.

I’ve posted these before, but they illustrate this category so well to me that I’m posting them again, because, well, I like to look at them! In its architectural form, detestable geometry becomes more than bearable. It becomes desirable.

An abstract, from a gritty urban landscape:

And another urban abstract:

Sometimes, though, the urban geometry is softened by the old:

This entry was posted in Personal Essay and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: GEOMETRY (2)

  1. tms says:

    I like your geometries, Judith. Well done.

  2. jbheronneau says:

    Well done Judith for this week…
    Architecture is probably the best topic to deal with geometry!
    And the creativity in here is like infinity 🙂

    Well done 🙂

    Au revoir!

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    I love the urban mix. The reflection of the spire is gorgeous.

  4. I really “get” the first two images, nicely composed. Something I would shoot myself 🙂 Well done!

  5. Jen says:

    I have photos like that – ones I like to post and repost. Your recent Alice in Wonderland reflections made me think it’s time to post them again perhaps.

    Love these images – the black and white is perfect for the first ones!

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

