Weekly Photo Challenge: SILHOUETTE

Not a technique I use often, at least not consciously. But silhouettes are inherently dramatic, and I realize they also arise naturally twice a day, at sunrise and sunset, as witness, as the sun comes up:

And as the sun goes down:

This entry was posted in Color, Light, Nature, Photography, Sunset and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: SILHOUETTE

  1. jfb57 says:

    What a great contrast of colours and mood! Fab!

  2. tms says:

    A twice a day phenomenon – and still fascinating, isn’t it? Both pictures capture the moment very well, and beautifully, I’d say.

  3. sunrise, sunset, can be magical times for photography and for just standing still soaking in the dawning or dying of the light.

  4. barb19 says:

    The contrast between sunrise and sunset is amazing – great photos for the challenge!

  5. pauline says:

    I love it when nature paints in ink and water color. Nicely captured!

  6. Rebekah says:

    These are both lovely shots! Apparently, it’s not a technique I use very often either, because I had only one photo with a silhouette, and that I used last week 🙂

  7. Other than silhouettes, I think you could put these pictures under a label of “peaceful”, too. I know that was my immediate reaction when I saw these beautiful photos. Mother Nature certainly gives us a beautiful background with which to work, doesn’t she?

  8. Angelia Sims says:

    Beautiful colors in both these settings. I love the blue.

  9. Stef says:

    Both are lovely. I’m a fan of sunrise more than sunset, myself.

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

