Weekly Photo Challenge: NEAR AND FAR (2)

A photograph loosely inspired by the Japanese concept of shakkei,ย a “borrowed view”:

A “borrowed view” incorporates the far distant, which belongs to something or someone else, into the near view which “belongs” to the borrower, as, a distant mountain utilized as part of a homeowner’s landscape design. So, technically this doesn’t really qualify — except in my mind. Which is, ultimately, where it counts.

For me, photography is an exceedingly personal art. And for you?

This entry was posted in Gardens, Japan, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: NEAR AND FAR (2)

  1. pauline says:

    Well shoot – we’re all borrowers (except maybe John Malone who owns the 290,100-acre Bell Ranch in New Mexico as well as a million acres of timberland in Maine and New Hampshire)! I like your take on the concept – most of us can’t look too far before borrowing beauty ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Something vague floating around in my mind about — so much beauty in the world, even if you feel yours is limited that way, it pays to lift up your eyes and look around?

      • pauline says:

        It ALWAYS pays to lift up your eyes and look around. Beauty may be a concept but it’s as real to me as anything else in this world. So is ugliness but I like John Constable’s take: “I never saw an ugly thing in my life: for let the form of an object be what it may – light, shade, and perspective will always make it beautiful.”

      • Touch2Touch says:

        And someone else (of course I forget who) said that paying real attention to anything, you discover that it’s beautiful. Or something like that.
        ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Stef says:

    I think all art is both personal and public; and the magic comes when another human understands that which once was solely personal to the creator….

    • Touch2Touch says:

      I love your coupling the word “magic” with what happens when a spark leaps between creator and viewer/reader. Every rare once in a while, the spark leaps when both parties are present at the same time. That is BIG magic.

  3. Photography, itself, is a borrowed view – no? A photograph here in my hand (or on my screen) with a view of your view of something else…

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

