Weekly Photo Challenge: NEAR AND FAR

Famed minimalist Japanese architect Tadao Ando designed this entrance to his new Stone Center at Williamstown’s Clark Art Institute:

Ando had no formal training as an architect; his vision is purely his own. But it is surely influenced heavily by the culture he comes from, as witness another walkway, this the entrance to the Miyajima Shrine in Hiroshima:

The strong linear perspective barreling from near to far is a classic movement.

Less obvious, but operative nonethless, is the perspective from this lantern, also at Miyajima, to the hills rising steeply beyond:

This entry was posted in Art, Japan, Museums, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: NEAR AND FAR

  1. The top shot is intriguing. I love the lines, I find my self just looking and waiting for doors to open. Nice picture.

  2. tms says:

    Fantastic photos, Judith! Being the geometry addict I am, I like the first one best (of course). However your overall interpretation of “near and far” is very convincing: I see many aspects of “near and far” in this post. Kudos!

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Thanks much, Tobias.
      I have to confess I had you in mind in selecting that first photo — so I’m glad it resonates for you!
      The architect Ando is extremely geometric. (Not to mention minimalist, stripped down.)
      There’s an excellent inexpensive Taschen book of his work you might browse through at a bookstore, if you don’t already know it. The Stone Center pictured here is an adjunct building at the Clark; he is doing a total redesign of the museum, stage by stage.

  3. Everything in Japan is so carefully measured and designed. From buildings to candy bar wrappers. It just amazes me. I would love to travel there and photograph my heart out. Thanks for sharing these interesting captures.

    • Touch2Touch says:

      You write, “I would love to travel there and photograph my heart out.”
      I did that — and I have never in my life been so inspired with my camera.
      There’s a Japanese word, natsukashii. It’s a kind of compound of nostalgia and yearning and home-sickness. That’s how I still feel about Japan. I hope you get the opportunity to go, Maurizio!

  4. Stef says:

    “Simple” is far from easy. Very cool images.

  5. I think my favorite thing about your blog(s) is how you see so much in so many of the things you take time to see! : )

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Favorite quote, cherished for years:
      “Nobody sees a flower – really – it is so small it takes time – we haven’t time – and to see takes time, like to have a friend takes time.”
      Georgia O’Keeffe

      Thanks very much. Sorry I haven’t been by your terrific blog lately. Things are looking up, so I shall be there —

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

