Weekly Photo Challenge: CLOSE (2)

I wandered lonely as a cloud

That floats on high o’er vale and hill

When all at once I saw a crowd,

A host of golden — madeleines!

Here they are, packed close together, delicious lemon-y French mini-sponge cakes baked in their traditional shell-shape molds. I adore madeleines, and was thrilled to find this delicious crowd at Northampton’s extraordinary French café, 40 Green Street Lunch.

When Marcel Proust dipped just one in his tea, memories came flooding back to him and he wrote seven volumes of major opus A La Recherche du Temps Perdu (difficult to translate appropriately, but generally meaning in search of time past, of time vanished). Here I am, having eaten one madeleine (all I can afford), and all I have to show for it is a brief blogpost. There’s nothing like reading Proust to make one feel like an underachiever!

(Do you think, maybe, if I ate the whole contents of this jar, I might at least come up with a memorable short story?)

This entry was posted in Books, Dessert, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: CLOSE (2)

  1. Madelaine says:

    Gotta love madeleines!

  2. jfb57 says:

    If you ate them all something might come up but it may be them! 😉

  3. tms says:

    If Proust’s receipe worked, a jar of madeleines should make you remember the history of the world … Maybe Julian Barnes had 10 and a half madeleines before writing his?
    But seriously, I love madeleines as well. And looking at your picture three and a half hours past breakfast does not help … I’m starving!

  4. Up close, those madeleines are really yummy! Made me hungry….!

    @))–>>—-

  5. Daniel says:

    Those things are great. I think my wife has some hidden somewhere. Project for the day: find them.

  6. Jo Bryant says:

    Oh dear. I am going to have to admit to having never tried a Madeleine…such a sad fact.

  7. Angelia Sims says:

    I haven’t tried one, but your post sure makes them sound DELICIOUS! I think if you ate the whole jar, you might have a quite a few stories to write (when you feel better that is!). LOL.

    • Touch2Touch says:

      They’re actually kind of plain, Angelia, a kind of sponge cake, flavored most frequently with almond or lemon zest. Good, yes, but
      it’s the mystique that really gets me. I keep thinking (as I dip and nibble) that maybe this one will cause the right writer’s magical vibrations!
      😉
      Thanks so much for dropping by and joining the conversation.

  8. Berna Lee says:

    You’re such a romantic! I’ve never had a Madeleine. I even have a problem with the spelling.
    But I’m getting on a bit so must seek one out before it’s too late.

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Don’t want to check out without tasting a madeleine, eh??????
      Have you ever heard of coddle and fadge? There’s a local restaurant that’s touting them as gen-ew-ine Irish dishes.
      I ordered them in your honor, a sort of stew/soup and a potato cake — but I won’t take their word for it. I need a REAL Irish imprimatur.

  9. reb says:

    I really like the photo, itself … nice reflections.

    If you eat all of those Madeleines, will that make you a high achiever, perhaps?! Just the fact that you ate them all …

  10. Diana says:

    Very thoughtful! 🙂

  11. Stef says:

    Methinks if you ate the whole jar you’d come up with a belly ache. 🙂

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

