Weekly Photo Challenge: SUMMER (2)

I suppose there are people who are hot for meat and potatoes, and don’t so much care for the vegetable side of life. Not me. I ADORE vegetables. Asparagus are in season right now, and I’ll have them almost every day of the five or so weeks that we’re lucky enough to have our local harvest.

But there’s one vegetable I spend most of the year waiting for, because any substitutes are not worth eating:

Another month or so, and our own local tomatoes will be in the markets, and I’ll be in heaven. Those plastic imitations available all year round in the supermarket aren’t worth eating (with one exception, but I’ll talk about that another time).  All winter, if I want tomato sauce, or tomatoes to cook in any way, it’s really good quality canned tomatoes that I’ll use.  But the local harvest! All kinds of heirloom varieties, and then old-fashioned beefsteaks, and little cherries and plum tomatoes, all shades of red (livened with some yellows and oranges). Let’s hear it for summer and TOMATOES.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: SUMMER (2)

  1. Nothing tastes like FRESH fruits and vegetables!

  2. Hip hip hooray! I love, Love, LOVE summer tomatoes! Those gray substitutes all year round don’t cut it. Neat post. 🙂

  3. reb says:

    I couldn’t agree more! I LOVE tomatoes … fresh, Summer tomatoes!

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Growing tomatoes are certainly getting enough rain tonight so they can’t complain —

      But the poor local strawberries, getting pounded 😦

      Do you put salt or sugar on your tomatoes? Or nothing at all?

  4. Stef says:

    I’m with you – veggies are fantastic! I’m curious to learn more about your exception to the tomato rule, though…

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Our Stop n Shop (but no other store in the area) carries Kumatoes. They’re some kind of hybrid or something, developed in Canada. They’re dark brownish (darn, I should photograph them, but it’s late tonight) on the exterior. The interior is a little darker than the average tomato, but recognizably red. AND the beauty part — they’re really ripe and they always TASTE LIKE TOMATOES. Even in winter.

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

