Weekly Photo Challenge: TOGETHER (3)

When it comes to togetherness, my mind doesn’t stray far from food! Whether it’s things I myself love best to eat (a long long list) or foods that GO together, they’re all objects of pleasurable contemplation. Here’s a match made in Scandinavian heaven:

What you see is the first, fish, course of a Danish smorrebrod at our Maine (and Copenhagen) friends’ home.  The open sandwiches were made by not-so-traditional “smorrebrod virgins”, in this case the hostess and me. (Together she and I clock in at about 112 years of marriage, so the “virgin” part has to be adjusted for local conditions.)

From front to back, there are hard-boiled eggs and Matjes herring with dill, cocktail shrimp with mayo, dill, and lemon; and fried fish with tartar sauce, dill, and lemon. (Yes, they eat a LOT of dill in Scandinavia.) Still to come are the meat and cheese courses. But the togetherness part is really what you see in the stemware. Smorrebrod has to be accompanied by slugs of the clear distilled dynamite called akvavit (small glasses), chased by beer, Carlsen or Tuborg for choice, but whatever else you can find will serve.

It’s a ritual at a Danish meal to skoal, or toast, other guests. To do so, one lifts one’s akvavit glass, catches the eye of the guest one wishes to toast, and while maintaining eye contact, both drain their glasses. From personal experience, once is okay, twice is tough, and three puts me out for the count. We’ve never been to a large Danish party, so I can only imagine what it’s like to skoal and be skoaled by many people!

Interesting note on Danish etiquette: there is one person at a party who is NEVER skoaled and who does not skoal in their turnI leave it to you to figure out who that might be!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Friendship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: TOGETHER (3)

  1. jfb57 says:

    How lovely!! A great take for the theme!!

  2. Berna Lee says:

    You go to such interesting parties. What lovely food!
    I’m intrigued by the fact that there is always someone who is never Skoaled. I have no answer to that, except that it is so non-Irish. Please explain.
    Berna

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Greetings, Berna!
      I will hold off divulging who never gets skoaled until maybe a few people take a crack at it. (A pretty sneaky way to urge people to come back!) It’s always fun to have smorrebrod with the folks from Maine because we get to fix it together — unlike tonight, when it’s time to come up with some eats worthy of Frank’s 85th/26th birthday (disparity depends on who you ask, him or me) and solo in the doing!
      Gra, J

  3. the bartender of course!

  4. reb says:

    Great togetherness! 🙂 Yes, we eat lots of dill. I love dill and this picture made me hungry.
    I was going to add that during this «skål-procedure», while you maintain eye contact with the hostess/host, at least in Swedish tradition, none of the guests put his glass down before the hostess/host does.

    I have no answer to the question…maybe the Danes have something different that I don’t know about. The only one I could think of, that I wouldn’t skåla with is myself 🙂

  5. pauline says:

    No clue on whom not to toast – I’d refrain from toasting the dishwasher…
    Love the idea of foods together – there are some combinations made in heaven, aren’t there?

  6. Jen says:

    A great story of togetherness – all around! Now I’m hungry…

  7. Stef says:

    At least one leaves a large Danish meal well hydrated…. 😉

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

