Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast

Well, croissants are the top name of the game for me, but I’ve posted about ’em before, most notably in Croissants on a Frosty Morning on my other blog.  So today I’m celebrating today’s actual breakfast, just eaten, beloved but indulged in rarely:

It’s bagels and lox, yes, but with some differences. No cream cheese (I prefer butter), and additions of red onion sliced thin, capers (for Frank), and tomato slices. Oh, and some creamed herring. We have sleepover guests a lot, and in running what amounts to our non-profit B&B, I’ve discovered that people are more idiosyncratic and hard-nosed about breakfast than about any other meal.

“I want what I want, the way that I want it,” seems to be the Breakfast Anthem! And we’re no different —

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast

  1. Gobetween says:

    Sounds yummy 🙂

  2. frizztext says:

    beside the colors very sophisticated use of graphic lines – a great photo still life composition!
    greetings by
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/11/18/weekly-photo-challenge-breakfast/

  3. I grew up eating bagels every Sunday. Now, I’m gluten intolerant. Hate that … wish I could have one now.
    Nice pix ..Isadora
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2011/11/20/weekly-photo-challlenge-breakfast/

  4. Fergiemoto says:

    That’s my kind of meal!

  5. barb19 says:

    Delicioous – and very well presented!

  6. Pauline says:

    Never been a fan of lox (or capers, or bagels, for that matter) but you certainly make them look appetizing. Breaking the fast was done in French when I was young – thin crepes rolled around some fruity filling or croissants drizzled with honey, French toast with raspberries and cream or an omelette bursting with spinach and chives. There was always oatmeal or Wheatina for those hurry-up mornings and when Dad cooked, we had the old stand-by, scrambled eggs and bacon.

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Actually, today’s breakfast was picturesque, and when I was growing up we often had bagels, and occasionally lox for Sunday breakfasts.
      But when I have my druthers, crepes and croissants and French toast (my mother made GREAT French toast) and a splendid filled omelet will light my fire quickest and longest!
      And I certainly don’t turn my nose up at scrambled eggs and bacon.
      Outside of special occasions, though, for most of the year’s 365 days, I have my iconic breakfast: a slice of WASA bread, lightly buttered, a slice of boiled ham and a slice of Swiss cheese and a cup of tea. Day in, day out, that’s my standby. But it doesn’t photograph well!!!!!!!

  7. Stef says:

    “A non-profit B&B” – love it. 🙂

  8. Oh Touch! you have touched my heart – this is a favorite breakfast treat for me!!

  9. Patti Kuche says:

    This looks so good and you are so right about the idiosyncrasies of breakfast!

  10. pix & kardz says:

    the bagels & the sliced tomatoes – and the non-profit B&B – got me!
    thanks for sharing this brilliant post! bon appetit!

  11. This looks absolutely delicious – what a wonderful way to start the day 🙂

  12. Languages Of Art says:

    Wow! That is fancy!!!

  13. This looks amazing. So tasty! : )

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

