Weekly Photo Challenge: Hidden

In an inner sanctum at Ise Jingu, the shrine in Japan’s Mie Prefecture dedicated to the founding goddess Ameratsu, this Shinto priest is folded into himself:

This entry was posted in Japan, Photography, Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Hidden

  1. Berna Lee says:

    SHHH! He’s sleeping. Berna

  2. Pauline says:

    Folding into one’s self. Beautifully put. If one practices it, the unfolding can be equally satisfactory.

  3. tita buds says:

    The picture calms me somehow. 🙂 It must have been one of the most serene places you’ve been to.

  4. jakesprinter says:

    He`s under meditation i think , nice post

  5. 2e0mca says:

    Is there actually a physical priest in there or one who has returned from beyond? Very interesting shot 🙂

  6. Patti Kuche says:

    This is a strangely comforting photo, full of hidden meaning . . .

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Hmmm. For me too —
      Japan and what I know of Shinto feels that way to me.
      Did you ever see the children’s animated movie My Neighbor Totoro?
      I’ve seen it I don’t know how many times, both with Japanese sound track and with English dubbing (the Japanese is better). It’s by the famous animator Hayao Miyazaki, and has a strong Shinto element, and if I’m really blue or anxious, it’s what I turn to. Odd, eh?

  7. jfb57 says:

    Now that’s really clever! Is it a mirror reflection?

  8. There appears very peacefulness in his folding. He is a lucky man. Too often we do not allow ourselves to have this quiet moment. I wish we could all find this restful time.

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

