Weekly Photo Challenge: BROKEN

Not so much BROKEN, as BEING BROKEN DOWN:

A gallery at the Clark Art Institute in Williamstown, MA, photographed in the process of being dismantled so that a new exhibit can be installed. Caught through a slit in the wooden screens blocking off the space, here it is:

It could, however, alternatively be called Work in Progress or even Birth of an Exhibit; and I’m more inclined to think of it that way. A fellow blogger commented that he had very few photos to illustrate the theme BROKEN, and so, I discover, do I. Oh! I realize. That theme doesn’t appeal to me either. In fact, it DISAPPEALS to me (if I can coin a word).

Turns out the Weekly Photo Challenge has challenged me to a self-discovery. Useful!

This entry was posted in Art, Museums, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: BROKEN

  1. suitablefish says:

    I’m always trying to peer through those slits to see what’s on the other side. Even though the theme ‘disappeals’ your concept is unique. I’m all for coining new words. And thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment on funky….

  2. Stef says:

    You know the saying: “One man’s [person’s] trash is another man’s [person’s] treasure” – so who’s to say what’s “broken” and what’s not…?

  3. I like disappeals! I’m finding it hard to find a photo on the theme too. Won’t give up quite yet but ….
    Love your idea of ‘work in progress’!

  4. ceceliafutch says:

    One way to look at it is that brokenness oftentimes is the birth of something new. So your photo interpretation is spot on! We have choices: discard the broken whatever, or seize an opportunity to grow from it, recreate, rehabilitate, create something new, etc. For me, the concept of brokenness certainly suggests sadness, grief, an ending–but it also suggests an open door where there wasn’t one before. (Just my thoughts.)

    • Touch2Touch says:

      This is so terrific, Cecilia, and your comment brings it home to me.
      As I said in the post, I don’t like the theme BROKEN. Basically is suggests to me what it suggests to you — and I prefer beginnings to endings any day.
      But of course there’s its corollary, as you suggest:
      A new door can’t open until the old one shuts —
      and the classic,
      You can’t make an omelette without breaking eggs.
      All of you commenters cheer me up immensely, and make me start to see differently!

      • aame says:

        I so agree with ur thoughts above and here..I too found this theme really ‘Disappealing’…and ironically could manage only with a few broken eggs for the omlette 🙂

      • Touch2Touch says:

        I hope the omelette was good anyway, Varsha!
        (Thanks for paying such a thoughtful visit here, and for your responses. Arigato, Namaste!)

    • Stef says:

      Ooohhhh – I *love* this. 🙂

    • suitablefish says:

      . . .wise thoughts. This is the place where I live now – broken, with new doors to walk through. Here I am taking photos with my little camera, full of wonder and inspiration by the photographs I see…it’s a beginning . . .

      • Touch2Touch says:

        Your comment inspires in me a simple thought: Broken and Beginning, the same letter B begins them both!
        A good way to link them in my mind —
        Thank you!

    • aame says:

      Thanks for sharing these thoughts, Cecelia !

  5. Interesting shot and I agree, I don’t seem to snap shots of broken things. Maybe I just don’t fit the broken theme. I have searched my pictures and find nothing. I don’t like the idea of broken 😦 Your post made me think! I haven’t come up with a thing for broken!

    • Touch2Touch says:

      What might be interesting for you, then, is to look at some of these comments from generous viewers.
      They have certainly opened my eyes!
      There IS another way to look at BROKEN — and redefine it.

  6. i had the same challenge with this week’s photo challenge. Seems I’m not into cataloging that which is broken!

  7. Pauline says:

    A broken thing isn’t the same as it was when it was whole. It looks different, it functions differently, it has become something else. It, too, starts a new life. (Think of The Velveteen Rabbit). Broken is just a stage something passes through, much like whole is, and new.

    I like the word disappeals. Use it three times in three sentences and it’s yours, you know (a Marquis of Queensbury rule).

  8. Patti Kuche says:

    I love your photo of the “broken” exhibit which to me reveals the work, the human touch in either putting it together, or the taking apart. The parts of the whole, in being exposed, explain so much. That hearts, once broken, learn to love again restores my faith in the value of shattered pieces.

  9. Pauline says:

    That image was just way cool – mosaics are a perfect example of broken things taking on a new life.

    • Touch2Touch says:

      But it doesn’t even begin to do justice to the mosaics of shards and fragments that Antoni Gaudí used to make this magnificent, whimsical, fantastical, altogether magical park. People sit and enjoy the sun or conversation on these undulating, serpentine, consecutive benches. I’ve found two better photos, but don’t know how to display them — maybe I’ll put them in another post!

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

