Weekly Photo Challenge: SKY IV

My very favorite sunset of all, April in Tucson, Arizona:

This entry was posted in Desert, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: SKY IV

  1. Pauline says:

    It looks like an oil painting – you captured such beauty in color and texture. I’m not fond of Arizona heat and flat, dry expanses but oh, the colors!

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Interesting, Pauline. I thought so too, and wish I could capture that effect again with the camera, but of course have no idea how. It was a fluke of the moment.

      (Actually I like the heat — up to a point— and flat dry expanses, but yes, it is the colors —)

  2. indybrown says:

    Absolutely beautiful photo!

  3. Kamakshi says:

    BEAUTIFUL… I agree with Pauline, it does look like a painting!

    reminds me of this
    http://picturesqueworld.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/mahabeleshwar/

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Thanks, Kamakshi. Interesting how different the shape of the mountains are in the two countries. I think the Arizona mountains must be much younger, more jagged-y; yours more rounded and ancient-looking. Maybe?

  4. Patti Kuche says:

    Big sky, big colour, breathtaking!

  5. Meg says:

    As a newbie (and loving it) Arizonan, I have to correct Pauline’s description of “… flat, dry expanses”. Dry, yes. We just ended our four month dry spell with two drenching monsoon rains – wonderful to experience. Ocotillo went from brown sticks to leafed out beauties overnight. Honest.

    But flat, never. Just look at the Catalina mountains in Judy’s picture. And the Catalinas are one of four ranges that surround Tucson (the Rincon’s, the Santa Rita’s, and the Tucson Mountains). And we are not in the “mountainous” part of the state. I could go on and on, but just consider the Grand Canyon – flat it’s not.

    Thanks for letting me defend our state, which has many faults, but flat isn’t one of them.

  6. Stef says:

    To me, this reminds me of a Thomas Kinkade painting – soft, warm, fuzzy, inviting colors and borders…. amazing.

  7. Pauline says:

    For Meg: I was thinking of the Sonoran Desert area when I commented, as I visited there. Those grasslands are pretty flat and the whole area was dry when I toured it. I’ve not covered the entire state and I am sure there are some lovely spots so no need to defend. I did stay for a few days in Flagstaff and visited part of the Colorado Plateau and I hiked some in the Chiricahua Mountains. I am just a New England woodland girl at heart – any place not covered in massive green trees seems flat and dry to me 😉

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Aside: And that’s the truth, Meg. Pauline is the poster child for New England!!!!
      Who was the Queen on whose heart was engraved Calais? Mary Queen of Scots, maybe?
      Anyway, on Pauline’s heart is lovingly engraved: Silver Street, Sheffield.

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

