Weekly Photo Challenge: Worn Down

Erosion from waves, and from time, conspire to produce these dramatic rock fragments at the edge of the Japan Sea:

And to show you the broader landscape in which those strange rock fragments are embedded:

This entry was posted in Japan, Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Worn Down

  1. Pauline says:

    The fractal theory taught me that all things in nature resemble something else in nature – in this case, nature resembles a man-made city!

  2. You have the ability to come up with the nicest pictures. I love the texture these rocks display. Nature is certainly powerful!

    Thank you for once again providing us with a thought-provoking, beautiful picture. I have no ability to hold these images for any length of time in my mind, but I do enjoy returning to them again and again on your blog.

    Thanks for allowing me to rediscover nature’s beauty!
    Tara

  3. Stef says:

    The green grass and the blue sea; the ragged rock and the flowing waves… and a bench amid all the contrasts. Wonderful.

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Stef, Your comment reads like poetry, I love “the ragged rock and the flowing waves” —

      At the time I was so taken with the odd fragmented crystalloid rocks that I never even noticed there was a bench there–
      and never have noticed in all the times I’ve seen the photo again until just now when you point it out!

      • Stef says:

        Isn’t it amazing what we do (and don’t) see? One of the many reasons I value the insight of others – they can show me ‘obvious’ things that I obviously neglect! 🙂

      • Touch2Touch says:

        It was said (I think) in a very different context, but it occurs to me that “in union there is strength” —
        and wisdom, and insight.

        Also, that 1 + 1 = more than 2.

  4. Christine says:

    I believe my husband was telling me that there is a similar type of rock formation in Ireland. Neat shapes, and nice capture 🙂

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

